Media Contact

AgriBank Communications

AgriBank Announces 2015 Board of Directors

Douglas Felton Re-elected Board Chair
Matthew Walther Re-elected Board Vice Chair
Nick Vande Weerd Elected Board Member
Ed Breuer, John Schmitt, Matt Walther Re-elected Board Members

ST. PAUL, Minn., March 13, 2015—AgriBank today announced the election of one new member of its 18-member board of directors for 2015, as well as the re-election of officers and three directors. Nick Vande Weerd was elected as a new board member. Ed Breuer, John Schmitt and Matthew Walther were re-elected to the board. Douglas Felton and Matthew Walther were re-elected as the board’s chair and vice chair, respectively.

The elections took place this week at the 2015 AgriBank Annual Meeting in Orlando, Fla.


Doug Felton, of Northfield, Minn., owns and operates a 3,000-acre irrigated corn and vegetable production farm and also has cow/calf operations. Felton has served on the AgriBank board since 1996.


Matt Walther, of Centerville, Ind., has a farming operation consisting of 2,000 row crop acres of corn, soybeans and wheat, and a 120-head cow/calf herd. He has served on the AgriBank board since 2011.


Ed Breuer, of Mandan, N.D., owns and operates a 3,850-acre diversified cattle and small grain operation. He raises wheat, barley, corn and oats. He has served on the AgriBank board since 2004.


John Schmitt, of Quincy, Ill., owns and operates a farmer/feeder operation with 1,100 acres. Crops include corn, soybeans, hay and other forages. His feeder cattle operation purchases, backgrounds and finishes 400 head of cattle annually. Schmitt has served on the AgriBank board since 2007.


Nick Vande Weerd, of Brookings, S.D., owns dairy and livestock farming operations that milk 1,250 cows and raise all its own heifers. The operations also include 1,000 acres of corn, soybeans and alfalfa. Prior to joining the AgriBank board, he served on the Farm Credit Services of America board from 2011 to 2015.


AgriBank is one of the largest banks within the national Farm Credit System, with more than $90 billion in total assets. Under the Farm Credit System’s cooperative structure, AgriBank is primarily owned by 17 affiliated Farm Credit Associations. The AgriBank District covers America’s Midwest, a 15-state area stretching from Wyoming to Ohio and Minnesota to Arkansas. About half of the nation’s cropland is located within the AgriBank District, providing the Bank and its Association owners with expertise in production agriculture. For more information, visit

Related Topic: General