Media Contact

AgriBank Communications

Heitkamp Receives Friend of Farm Credit Award

WASHINGTON, D.C., June 16, 2016 – The AgriBank District Farm Credit Council (ADFCC) presented its 2016 Friend of Farm Credit Award to U.S. Sen. Heidi Heitkamp of North Dakota.

Heitkamp received the award for her important work on behalf of rural communities, agriculture and the Farm Credit System. ADFCC members were in Washington to talk to members of Congress about issues important to farmers and ranchers in the AgriBank District, and to observe the Farm Credit centennial.

“The leadership Senator Heitkamp provides through her service on the Senate Agriculture Committee and the Senate Banking Committee is critical to the well-being of rural communities and agricultural producers across the country,” said Rollin Tonneson, a livestock and grain farmer from Souris, N.D., a director of Farm Credit Services of North Dakota and a member of the AgriBank District Farm Credit Council. “In particular, we greatly appreciate her efforts to ensure the crop insurance program remains an effective risk management tool to help producers deal with the vagaries of weather and the markets.”


Farm Credit supports rural communities and agriculture with reliable, consistent credit and financial services, today and tomorrow. Farm Credit has been fulfilling its mission of helping rural America grow and thrive for a century by providing farmers with the capital they need to make their businesses successful and by financing vital infrastructure and communication services. For more information about Farm Credit please visit


The AgriBank District Farm Credit Council represents Farm Credit farmers and ranchers in a 15-state area from Wyoming to Ohio and Minnesota to Arkansas. About half the nation’s cropland is located within the AgriBank District.

Related Topic: General