Media Contact

AgriBank Communications

AgriBank and AFA Announce Scholarship Recipients

Kansas City, Mo., June 8, 2018 — AgriBank and Agriculture Future of America (AFA) have selected Connor Erbsen and Samantha Hildreth for a unique scholarship program.

The William J. Collins Scholarship is part of the AFA Leader and Academic Scholarship program. It gives children of Farm Credit employees within the AgriBank District planning to pursue agricultural careers access to premier personal and professional development and financial assistance for their college education. This year’s two outstanding students are pursuing agriculture-related, four-year degrees and are passionate about the future of the agriculture industry.

Erbsen, of Lanark, Ill., will begin his studies in agronomy this fall at Iowa State University. After completing his degree, he hopes to farm with his family and start his own business. Hildreth, of Forest Lake, Minn., will be a freshman studying veterinary medicine this fall at the University of Findlay. She plans to continue her education in veterinary medicine at Colorado State University.

With a commitment to investing in each scholar’s leadership development, the scholarship program also includes sponsorship to AFA Leaders Conference. The conference is AFA’s key leader development event, providing soft-skill training and connecting students with their peers and industry professionals.

AFA will welcome over 800 students from across the nation to Kansas City, Mo., Nov. 1-4 for the 2018 AFA Leaders Conference. College students pursuing careers in agriculture and food may apply for Conference until Sept. 10. For more information about the conference, visit


Connor Erbsen, Lanark, Ill., Iowa State University

Samantha Hildreth, Forest Lake, Minn., University of Findlay


AFA builds bridges for young leaders to foster engagement and innovation in food and agriculture. With program participation increasing 52 percent in the last five years, AFA leader development programs have impacted 17,000 college leaders and young professionals from more than 200 colleges and universities throughout 43 states since its inception in 1996. AFA has awarded more than $9 million in academic and leader development scholarships. For more information about AFA, visit or contact Traci Via at


AgriBank is one of the largest banks within the national Farm Credit System, with over $100 billion in total assets. Under the Farm Credit System’s cooperative structure, AgriBank is primarily owned by 14 Farm Credit Associations. The AgriBank District covers America’s Midwest, a 15-state area stretching from Wyoming to Ohio and Minnesota to Arkansas. With about half of the nation’s cropland located in the AgriBank District and over 100 years of experience, the Bank and its Association owners have significant expertise in providing financial products and services for rural communities and agriculture. For more information, please visit

Related Topic: Community