Media Contact

AgriBank Communications

Sen. John Boozman Receives Friend of Farm Credit Award

AgriBank District Farm Credit Council honors Arkansas senator

ST. PAUL, Minn., September 14, 2020 – The AgriBank District Farm Credit Council (ADFCC) presented its 2020 Friend of Farm Credit Award to U.S. Sen. John Boozman of Arkansas.

U.S. Sen. John Boozman (front right) receives the 2020 Friend of Farm Credit Award from AgriBank District Farm Credit Council Vice Chair Roberts (front left) and other Farm Credit representatives (back from left to right) Scott Sullivan, Kenny Brixey, Mark Kaufman, Mike Norris, Ron Hubbard, Marion Fletcher, Greg Cole and Jerry Burckett.

Boozman, a member of the Senate Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry Committee, received the award for his important work on behalf of rural communities, agriculture and the Farm Credit System, a national network of customer-owned cooperatives. ADFCC members typically present the award each summer when they travel to Washington to meet with members of Congress about issues important to farmers and ranchers in AgriBank’s Midwestern District, but this year they bestowed the award remotely due to the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

“The leadership Senator Boozman provides on the Senate Agriculture Committee has ensured American farmers a critical safety net while also providing resources for our vital nutrition programs,” said ADFCC member Chris Roberts, a farmer from Heth, Arkansas, and a board member of Farm Credit Midsouth. “His achievements on behalf of American agriculture and our consumers are to be celebrated.”

“Americans depend on our nation’s farmers to grow the food, fuel and fiber we need,” Boozman said. “Throughout the COVID-19 crisis, our ag producers’ resiliency has demonstrated their enduring hard work, dedication and commitment. Providing farmers and ranchers in Arkansas and across the country with the flexibility they need is crucial to empowering them to continue doing their vital work in the fields, ranches and beyond. I’m honored to receive the 2020 Friend of Farm Credit Award. I remain committed to ensuring our agriculture industry is supported, and that Arkansans and all Americans have access to a safe, affordable and healthy supply of food.”

AgHeritage Farm Credit Services, Delta Agricultural Credit Association, Farm Credit Midsouth and Farm Credit Services of Western Arkansas are the four Farm Credit lenders that serve Arkansas, and they are among the 14 Farm Credit Associations that comprise the AgriBank District along with AgriBank. The AgriBank District Farm Credit Council represents Farm Credit farmers and ranchers in a 15-state area from Wyoming to Ohio and Minnesota to Arkansas. About half the nation’s cropland is located within the AgriBank District.

Farm Credit supports rural communities and agriculture with reliable, consistent credit and financial services, today and tomorrow. It has been fulfilling its mission of helping rural America grow and thrive for more than a century with the capital necessary to make businesses successful and by financing vital infrastructure and communication services. For more information, visit


John Share, AgriBank
(651) 282-8634 or

Sara Lasure, Office of Senator Boozman

Related Topic: General