Media Contact

AgriBank Communications

Farm Credit Announces Latest Grants to Support Western North Dakota Communities

ST. PAUL, Minn., November 22, 2021 — Farm Credit organizations in western North Dakota today announced nine grants totaling $184,360 to worthy programs that will improve lives in local communities through the Rural Community Grant Fund. 

The fund was established as a partnership between Farm Credit Services of Mandan and Farm Credit Services of North Dakota – the two largest providers of agricultural loans in western North Dakota – and AgriBank Farm Credit Bank, their St. Paul, Minn.-based funding bank, to help communities impacted by mineral development. 

Grants support critical community needs such as health, safety and emergency services.

The latest grants include:

  • $25,000 to Arnegard Rural Fire District for a fire truck
  • $25,000 to Billings County EMS for an emergency response vehicle and equipment
  • $25,000 to Columbus Rural Fire Protection District Inc. for a fire hall addition
  • $25,000 to Community Ambulance Service Inc. for volunteer crew quarters
  • $25,000 to Taylor Rural Fire Protection District for a fire truck
  • $20,000 to Trinity Health Foundation for an ambulance
  • $20,000 to Watford City Police Department for police radios
  • $10,000 to Burke County Sheriff’s Office for rescue vehicle equipment
  • $9,360 to Crosby Rural Fire Protection District for rescue equipment

The Rural Community Grant Fund is accepting applications for programs that meet the needs of local communities impacted by expanded mineral exploration and production in western North Dakota. Interested parties should apply at or by April 30, 2022. 


AgriBank is part of the customer-owned, nationwide Farm Credit System. Under Farm Credit’s cooperative structure, AgriBank is primarily owned by 14 local Farm Credit Associations, which provide financial products and services to rural communities and agriculture. AgriBank obtains funds and provides funding and financial solutions to those Associations. The AgriBank District covers a 15-state area stretching from Wyoming to Ohio and Minnesota to Arkansas. For more information, please visit


Farm Credit Services of North Dakota is a member-owned agricultural credit association providing loans to farmers and ranchers for real estate, machinery, livestock and operating needs. FCS of ND also offers life and disability and crop insurance to the rural community. FCS of ND serves 17 counties in central and northwest North Dakota through branch offices located in Minot, Bottineau, Carrington, Crosby, Rugby, and Williston, including Bowbells Crop Insurance (Bowbells), and Ward County Crop Insurance (Minot). For more information, visit


In addition to operating and real estate loans, Farm Credit Services of Mandan offers agribusiness financing, livestock and equipment loans, leasing services, tax, recordkeeping and payroll services, crop, forage and livestock insurance, life and disability insurance, and a cash patronage program. Farm Credit Services of Mandan is a member-owned agricultural financing cooperative that serves a twenty-county area in southwest North Dakota, with full-time offices in Beulah, Bowman, Carson, Dickinson, Mandan, Mott, Washburn, and Wishek. For more information, visit

Related Topic: Community