Media Contact

AgriBank Communications

Farm Credit Announces Latest Grants to Support Western North Dakota Communities

ST. PAUL, Minn., May 31, 2024 — Farm Credit organizations in western North Dakota today announced 19 grants totaling $422,940.37 to worthy programs that will improve lives in local communities through the Rural Community Grant Fund. 

The fund was established as a partnership between AgCountry Farm Credit Services and Farm Credit Services of Mandan – the two largest providers of agricultural loans in western North Dakota – and AgriBank, their St. Paul, Minn.-based funding bank, to help communities impacted by mineral development. 

Grants support critical community needs such as health, safety and emergency services.

The latest grants include:

  • $50,000 to Connect Medic Clinic for a medical clinic expansion
  • $50,000 to Bowbells Ambulance Service for an ambulance
  • $45,000 to Richardton Healthcare Foundation for a resident mobility van
  • $34,058 to Mercer County Sheriff for special response team equipment
  • $30,000 to Divide County Sheriff’s Department for a patrol vehicle
  • $30,000 to Renville County Sheriff’s Office for video equipment upgrade
  • $30,000 to Burke County Sheriff’s Office to outfit a new patrol vehicle
  • $25,000 to Williston State College Foundation for a certified medical assistant training program
  • $25,000 to Lansford Community Betterment Enterprise for a community building renovation
  • $15,270 to Billings County Ambulance Service for training equipment
  • $15,000 to St. Luke’s Medical Center for a medication dispensing system
  • $15,000 to Minot Rural Fire Protection District for radio communication equipment
  • $10,000 to Bowbells Area Development Corporation for a heating system upgrade
  • $10,000 to Ward County Dive Team for a search and rescue pontoon
  • $10,000 to Lignite Volunteer Fire Department, Inc. for rescue tools
  • $9,000 to City of Glenburn for a warning siren
  • $7,500 to Columbus Rural Fire Protection District, Inc. for electrical upgrades
  • $6,600 to Portal International Fire Department for turnout gear
  • $5,512 to Community Ambulance Service, Inc. for a station emergency radio

The Rural Community Grant Fund is accepting applications for programs that meet the needs of local communities impacted by expanded mineral exploration and production in western North Dakota. Interested parties should apply at, or by October 31, 2024. 

About AgriBank

AgriBank is part of the customer-owned, nationwide Farm Credit System. Under Farm Credit’s cooperative structure, AgriBank is primarily owned by local Farm Credit Associations, which provide financial products and services to rural communities and agriculture. AgriBank obtains funds and provides funding and financial solutions to those Associations. AgriBank and those Associations compose the AgriBank District. The District covers a 15-state area stretching from Wyoming to Ohio and Minnesota to Arkansas. For more information, visit

About AgCountry Farm Credit Services

Headquartered in Fargo, N.D., AgCountry has managed assets in excess of $12 billion and over 700 employees. They are a member-owned, locally-governed lending institution that provides credit and financial services to more than 25,000 farmers and ranchers in portions of Minnesota, North Dakota, and Wisconsin. They also provide agribusiness loans and leases nationwide. AgCountry is a part of the Farm Credit System, a nationwide network of cooperative financial services institutions that serve rural America. For more information, visit

About Farm Credit Services of Mandan

In addition to operating and real estate loans, Farm Credit Services of Mandan offers agribusiness financing, livestock and equipment loans, leasing services, tax, recordkeeping and payroll services, crop, forage and livestock insurance, and a cash patronage program. Farm Credit Services of Mandan is a member-owned agricultural financing cooperative that serves a twenty-county area in southwest North Dakota, with full-time offices in Beulah, Bowman, Carson, Dickinson, Mandan, Mott, Washburn, and Wishek. For more information, visit

Related Topic: Community